Member Login       

Volume 28 is now available here.

The Caribbean Writer (TCW) – The Literary Gem of the Caribbean – is an international, refereed, literary journal with a Caribbean focus, founded in 1986 and published annually by the University of the Virgin Islands.

Our Mission

  • Publish quality writing by established and emerging writers that reflects the culture of the Caribbean
  • Promote and foster a strong literary tradition
  • Serve as an institute for the development of emerging writers throughout the Caribbean.

The Caribbean Writer features new and exciting voices from the region, and beyond that explore the diverse and multi-ethnic culture in poetry, short fiction, personal essays, creative non-fiction, and plays. Social, cultural, economic and sometimes controversial issues are also explored, employing a wide array of literary devices.

Also, The Caribbean Writer publishes translations, book reviews, interviews, one-act plays and special sections on such topics as:

“Tribute to Aimé Césaire,”
“Poetry and Prose from Bermuda,”
“Wilson Harris’s Caribbean Vision – Its Significance and his Legacy” and “Naipaul’s Nobel.”

Additionally, TCW showcases visual art, including photography, by leading and emerging artists of the Virgin Islands.

The Caribbean Writer’s Advisory Editorial Board is comprised of internationally recognized writers from the region:

Opal Palmer Adisa – Editor of The Caribbean Writer from 2010 – 2011, has 14 titles to her credit.  She is the recipient of the PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Literary Award for Tamarind and Mango Women (1992) and won a Pushcart Prize for her short story, “Duppy Get Her” (1987).

Kamau Brathwaite – Griffin Poetry Prize (2006) and Casa de las Americas Prize (1976).

Edwidge Danticat – National Book Award nomination for Krik? Krak!, Best Young American Novelists for Breath, Eyes, Memory by GRANTA (1996), American Book Award for The Farming of the Bones (1999), The National Book Critics Circle Award for Brother, I’m Dying (2007), the Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Brother, I’m Dying (2008) and MacArthur Fellows Program Genius grant (2009).

George Lamming – Guggenheim Fellowship (1955), Canada Council fellowship (1962) and Langston Hughes Medal (1998)

Caryl Phillips – Malcolm X Prize for Literature for The Final Passage (1985), The Booker Prize shortlist for Crossing the River (1993), Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature (2000) and an Essence Literary Award Finalist for Foreigners (2007).

Zee Edgell – The Fawcett Society Book Prize (1982) for her first novel, Beka Lamb, the Canute A. Brodhurst Prize for short fiction for her short story, “My Uncle Theophilus,” an MBE from Queen Elizabeth II for her “services to literature and to the community” (2007) and the Sister Mary McCauley Award, from St. Catherine Academy, Belize City, Belize (2008).

Earl Lovelace – British Petroleum Independence Literary Award (1965), Guggenheim Fellowship (1980), and the Commonwealth Writers Prize (Overall Winner, Best Book (1997).

Merle Hodge – Her first novel, Crick Crack Monkey, has often been studied as an important example of post-colonial fiction. Her other novel is The Life of Laetitia.

Alwin Bully – Man of the year Award, New Chronicle (newspaper) Roseau, Dominica (1978), Best Drama for The Nitebox (Writer), and the ITI-Jamaica Centre “Actor Boy Awards,” Jamaica (1991).

Laurence Lieberman – Jerome Shestack Award, American Poetry Review National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship Runner-Up, William Carlos Williams Award and the Poetry Society of America (1996).

Olive Senior – Commonwealth Writers’ prize (1967), United States Information Service – International Visitor Award (1988), and the F. G. Bressani Literary Prize for Poetry (1994).

Derek Walcott – Cholmondeley Award (1969), MacArthur Foundation Fellowship OBIE (1981), Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry (1988), Arts Council of Wales International Writers Prize (1990), WH Smith Literary Award (1990), Nobel Prize for Literature

Erika J. Waters is the founding editor of The Caribbean Writer and Professor Emeritus of English at the University of the Virgin Islands. She has published articles on Caribbean literature for over 30 years and co-edited Critical Issues in West Indian Literature and Contemporary Drama of the Caribbean. In 2010, she published From Kittery to Bar Harbor: Touring Coastal Maine (Arcadia Publishers).


Your cart is empty


The University of the Virgin Islands announces the release of Volume 28 of its international, literary journal…

The Caribbean Writer invites the general public to the Book Launch of Volume 28 on Wednesday, October…

Submissions Call for The Caribbean Writer –Volume 29 The Caribbean Writer, an international, refereed, literary journal with…

The Caribbean Writer announces its Volume 27 Prize Winners The Caribbean Writer has announced its annual prize…


The Caribbean Writer publishes its Volume 27 issue, dedicated to highlighting music and visual arts The University…

More ...

Subscribe to Newsletter
Name :
Email :