The Caribbean Writer

Volume 26 Prize Winners

The Caribbean Writer announces its Volume 26 Prize Winners

The Caribbean Writer has announced its annual prize winners from Volume 26, which is dedicated to Nature and Ecology. Topping the list of prizes is the David Hough Literary Prize, which was awarded to Linda Maria Rodriguez Guglielmoni, a Raymond Carver Best Story Award winner and Professor of Caribbean Literature, Film and Creative Writing at the University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez. This $500 prize is given to an author who is a resident of the Caribbean. The prize is donated by Sonja Hough, owner of Sonja’s Designs, the handmade jewelry designer in Christiansted, St. Croix, in memory of her late husband.

The Daily News Prize for poetry ($300) was awarded to Orlando Ricardo Menes (Born in Chile to Cuban parents) who directs the Creative Writing Program at the University of Notre Dame. The Canute A. Brodhurst Prize for fiction ($400) was awarded to Cynthia James, a Trinidadian poet and author, currently living in Toronto, Canada. The Charlotte and Isidor Paiewonsky Prize for first time publication ($200) in The Caribbean Writer went to University of the West Indies student, Vladimir Lucien of St. Lucia. The Marguerite Cobb-McKay Prize to a Virgin Islands author ($200) went to Charlene Mathew of Frederiksted, St. Croix, who is a retired Language Arts Coordinator with the Virgin Islands Department of Education.

The 2013 edition of The Caribbean Writer, Volume 27, highlighting music and visual arts, will be published later on in December. The Biographies and photographs of these winners will be featured in that journal.

For more information on The Caribbean Writer, please visit

Post a Comment

Skip to toolbar