The Caribbean Writer



For Immediate Release

Contact: Editor, Alscess Lewis-Brown

January 24, 2017


The Caribbean Writer Announces Volume 30 Prize Winners


The Caribbean Writer is pleased to announce the Prize Winners for its Volume 30 anniversary edition. Winners in the various categories are as follows:


The Canute A. Brodhurst Prize for best short fiction goes to Alicia Valasse, a St. Lucian poet and freelance writer who was selected for a story entitled “Suicide.”


The Daily News Prize for an author resident in the US Virgin Islands or the British Virgin Islands goes to Susan Hunter, a St. Thomas resident who was selected for her story entitled “Objects in Mirrors.”


The David Hough Literary Prize to an author residing in the Caribbean goes to Kirk Budhooram, a Trinidad based author for his story “The Last Day of School.”


The Marvin E. Williams Literary Prize for a new or emerging writer goes to Lynn E. Frederiksen of St. Croix, who was selected for her poem entitled “Courage of Egrets.”


The Cecile de Jongh Literary Prize to a Caribbean author whose work best expresses the spirit of the Caribbean goes to Vincent Toro, a Puerto Rican poet and playwright who was selected for his poem entitled “Sucrosanct.”


The Charlotte and Isidor Paiewonsky Prize to a writer for first-time publication in The Caribbean Writer goes to Andre Bagoo, a poet and journalist working in Trinidad and Tobago, who was selected for his poem entitled “On Wordsworth’s the Daffodils.”


For more information on The Caribbean Writer, please visit


University of the Virgin Islands ● RR 1, Box 10,000 ● Kingshill, St. Croix ● U.S. Virgin Islands 00850-9781 Phone: 340-692-4152 ● Fax: 340-692-4026 ● Email: Website:

Post a Comment

Skip to toolbar