The Caribbean Writer

Prize Winners

Volume 31 • Prize Winners • Brenda Flanagan • Shani Isaac • Mezan Ayoka • Mary Duggan • Kacy West

For Immediate Release
Contact: Editor, Alscess LewisBrown
July 17, 2018


The Caribbean Writer Announces Volume 31 Prize Winners


The Caribbean Writer is pleased to announce the Prize Winners for its Volume 31 edition, under the theme: New Vistas: An Evolving Caribbean. Winners in the various categories are as follows:


The Canute A. Brodhurst Prize goes to Brenda Flanagan, a Trinidadian author, for her short fiction “To Dance With My Brother.”


The Daily News Prize for an author resident in the US Virgin Islands or the British Virgin Islands goes to Shani Isaac, a St. Croix resident and university student who was selected for her story entitled, “Homecoming.”


The David Hough Literary Prize for an author residing in the Caribbean goes to Mezan Ayoka of Jamaica who was selected for her poem entitled “Under the House.”


The Marvin E. Williams Literary Prize for a new or emerging writer goes to Mary Duggan, a St. Thomas resident, for her poem “Honey Bee.”


The Cecile de Jongh Literary Prize to a Caribbean author whose work best expresses the spirit of the Caribbean goes to Kacy West, a Jamaican poet selected for her work entitled “The Colour of Politics.”


For more information, contact The Caribbean Writer at 340 692-4152 or email us at or visit The Caribbean Writer at


University of the Virgin Islands ● RR 1, Box 10,000 ● Kingshill, St. Croix ● U.S. Virgin Islands 00850-9781
Phone: 340-692-4152 ● Fax: 340-692-4026 ● Email: Website:

Post a Comment

Skip to toolbar